Halal and Haram Ingredient Database

As Muslims, we must have knowledge of halal and haram ingredients in order to eat what is permissible. Since most ingredients are listed using their chemical name, it’s difficult to figure out if they are halal or not. Therefore, this article makes it easier for you to find out if an ingredient is halal or haram. In between halal and haram are doubtful ingredients. These particular ingredients may or may not have animal derived ingredients or alcohol. Therefore, one will have to ask the manufacturer to confirm the source of the doubtful ingredients.

eat halal food in quran 2:172

“O you who have believed, eat from the good things which We have provided for you and be grateful to Allah if it is [indeed] Him that you worship.” Surah Baqarah 2:172

Halal and Haram Ingredient List

Here is a comprehensive list of halal and haram ingredients. If an ingredient is missing, please use the comment form below to report it and we will look into it. You may do the same if you notice an error in our list or want to know why the particular ingredient is halal, haram or doubtful. Information was obtained from several sources including Muslim Consumers Group, Wikipedia and RoadIslam.com.

Acesulfame Potassium (Halal)

Acetic acid (Halal)

Acetone (Halal)

Acid Casein (Doubtful)

Adenosine 5′ Monophosphate (Haram)

Agar (Halal)

Albumin (Halal)

Alcohol (Haram)

Alginic Acid or Algin (Halal)

Allspice (Halal)

Alum (Halal)

Aluminum Ammonium Sulfate (Halal)

Ammonium Bicarbonate (Halal)

Ammonium Carbonate (Halal)

Ammonium Chloride (Halal)

Ammonium Sulfate (Halal)

Amylase (alpha) (Halal)

Amylase (beta) (Halal)

Anise or Aniseed (Halal)

Annatto (Halal)

Apple Cider Vinegar (Halal in USA and Canada, verify in other countries)

Arrowroot (Halal)

Artificial Colors or FD&C Yellow No. 5 and others (Doubtful)

Artificial Flavors (Doubtful)

Ascorbic Acid (Halal)

Aspartame (Doubtful)

Azodicarbonamide (Halal)

Bacon (Haram)

Baker’s Yeast (Halal)

Baker’s Yeast Extract (Halal)

Baking Powder (Halal)

Baking Soda (Halal)

Balsamic Vinegar (Doubtful)

Basil (Halal)

Bay Leaves (Halal)

Beer (Haram)

Beer Batters (Haram)

Beer Flavor (Haram)

Beeswax (Halal)

Behenyl Alcohol or Docosanol (Doubtful)

Benzaldehyde (Halal)

Benzoic acid (Halal)

Beta-Carotene (Doubtful)

BHA (Doubtful)

BHT (Doubtful)

Bran (Halal)

Brewer’s Yeast Extract (Haram)

Bulgur wheat (Halal)

Butter fat Lipolyzed (Doubtful)

Buttermilk Solids (Doubtful)

Caffeine (Halal)

Calcium Carbonate (Halal)

Calcium Chloride (Halal)

Calcium Citrate (Halal)

Calcium Propionate (Halal)

Calcium Sorbate (Halal)

Calcium Sulfate (Halal)

Calcium Stearate (Doubtful)

Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate (Doubtful)

Canola or Canola Oil (Halal)

Caramel (Halal)

Caraway (Halal)

Carboxymethyl cellulose (Halal)

Cardamom (Halal)

Carmine color (Haram)

Carnauba Wax (Halal)

Carob, Carob Powder, Carob Gum (Halal)

Carrageenan (Doubtful)

Carrot Seed Oil (Halal)

Carrot Oleoresin (Halal)

Caseinates (Doubtful)

Cetyl Alcohol (Doubtful)

Cheese Powder (Doubtful)

Chicory Root or Root Chicory (Halal)

Chives (Halal)

Chlorine (Halal)

Chocolate Liquour or Cocoa Liqour (Halal)

Cinnamon (Halal)

Citric Acid (Halal)

Citrus Oil (Halal)

Clove (Halal)

Cochineal Color (Haram)

Cocoa Butter (Halal)

Cocoa Powder (Halal)

Coconut (Halal)

Confectionary Glaze (Haram)

Coriander (Halal)

Corn (Halal)

Corn Bran (Halal)

Corn Flour or Cornmeal (Halal)

Corn Gluten Meal or Corn Protein (Halal)

Corn Meal (Halal)

Corn Oil (Halal)

Corn Starch (Halal)

Corn Syrup (Halal)

Corn Syrup Solids (Halal)

Cranberry (Halal)

Cream (Halal)

Cream of Tarter (Halal in USA and Canada, elsewhere Doubtful)

Cultured Corn Syrup Solid (Halal)

Cultured Cream Lipolyzed (Doubtful)

Cultured Milk (Doubtful)

Cultured Wheat Flour (Halal)

Cumin (Halal)

Curry Powder (Halal)

Cytidene 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)

DATEM (Di- Acetyl Tartrate Ester of Monoglycerides) (Doubtful)

Dextrin (Halal)

Dextrose (Halal)

Dicalcium Phosphate (Halal)

Diglyceride (Doubtful)

Dill (Halal)

Dipotassium Phosphate (Halal)

Disodium Guanosine 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)

Disodium Guanylate (Halal)

Disodium Inosinate (Doubtful)

Disodium Uridine 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)

Dried Milk (Doubtful)

Durum Flour (Halal)

EDTA (Halal)

Enzyme Modified Lecithin (Doubtful)

Enzyme Modified Soya Lecithin (Doubtful)

Enzymes used in Bakery Products (Halal)

Enzymes used in Cheeses or Dairy Products (Doubtful)

Erythorbic Acid (Halal)

Erythritol (Haram)

Ethoxylated Mono- and Diglycerides (Doubtful)

Ethyl Alcohol or Ethanol (Haram)

Ethylvanillin (Halal)

Farina (Halal)

Fennel (Halal)

Fenugreek (Halal)

Fermented Cider (Haram)

Ferric Oxide (Halal)

Ferrous Sulphate (Halal)

Fish Gelatin (Halal)

Flour, Bleached Flour, Refined Flour, Enriched Flour (Halal)

Folic Acid (Doubtful)

Fructose (Halal)

Fumaric Acid (Halal)

Garlic (Halal)

Gelatin (Haram)

Gellan Gum (Halal)

Ghatti Gum (Halal)

Ginger (Halal)

Glucono Delta-Lactone (Halal)

Gluten (Halal)

Glycerin (Doubtful)

Glycerol Ester (Doubtful)

Glycerol Monostearate (Doubtful)

Graham Flour (Halal)

Grape (Halal)

Grape Seed Extract (Doubtful)

Grape Skin Powder (Doubtful)

Grape Seed Oil (Doubtful)

Guar Gum (Halal)

Ham (Haram)

Hard Cider (Haram)

High Fructose Corn Syrup (Halal)

Honey (Halal)

Horseradish (Halal)

Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysates (Halal)

Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Halal)

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (Halal)

Hydroxylated Lecithin (Doubtful)

Inosito 5′ – Monophosphate (Haram)

Inulin (Halal)

Invert Sugar (Halal)

Iron (Halal)

Isomalt (Halal)

Isopropyl Alcohol or Isoproponal Alcohol (Halal)

Karaya Gum (Halal)

Kelp (Halal)

L-Cysteine (Generally Haram)

Lactic Acid (Halal)

Lactitol (Halal)

Lactose (Doubtful)

Lanolin (Halal)

Lanolin Alcohol (Halal)

Lard (Haram)

Lecithin (Halal)

Licorice Root (Halal)

Locust Bean Gum (Halal)

Mace (Halal)

Magnesium Carbonate (Halal)

Magnesium Stearate (Doubtful)

Maize (Halal)

Malt (Halal)

Maltitol (Halal)

Maltodextrin (Halal)

Maltose (Halal)

Mannitol (Halal)

Maple Sugar (Halal)

Maple Syrup (Halal)

Margarine (Doubtful)

Marjoram (Halal)

Marshmallow (Doubtful)

Methylcellulose (Halal)

Microbial Enzymes, Rennet Microbial Enzymes and Lypase Microbial Enzymes (Halal)

Modified Food Starch or Modified Starch (Halal)

Molasses (Halal)

Monocalcium Phosphate (Halal)

Monoglycerides and Diglycerides (Doubtful)

Monosodium Glutamate (Halal)

Mustard, Mustard Seed, Mustard Oil (Halal)

Natural Flavors (Doubtful)

Natural Hickory Smoke Flavor (Halal)

Niacin or Vitamin B3 (Doubtful)

Nonfat Dry Milk (Doubtful)

Nucleotides (Haram)

Nutmeg (Halal)

Oat (Halal)

Oat Flour (Halal)

Oatmeal (Halal)

Olive Oil (Halal)

Olive Pomace Oil (Halal)

Onion (Halal)

Palm Oil (Halal)

Papain (Halal)

Paprika (Halal)

Parsley (Halal)

Partially Hydrogenated Vegetable Shortening (Halal)

Peanut (Halal)

Pectin (Doubtful)

Peppers (Halal)

Phenylethanol (Halal)

Phosphates (Halal)

Phosphoric Acid (Halal)

Polydextrose (Halal)

Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty Acids (Doubtful)

Polyoxythylene Sorbitan Monostearate (Doubtful)

Polysorbate 60 (Doubtful)

Polysorbate 65 (Doubtful)

Polysorbate 80 (Doubtful)

Polyvinyl Alcohol (Halal)

Pork (Haram)

Potassium (Bicarbonate, Bromate, Sorbate) (Halal)

Potassiunm Sorbate (Halal)

Potato Starch (Halal)

Pregelatinized Starch (Halal)

Propionic Acid (Halal)

Propyle Gallate (Halal)

Propylene Glycol (Halal)

Propylene Glycol Monostearate (Doubtful)

Protease Enzyme (Halal)

Psyllium (Halal)

Pure 100% Vanilla Beans (Halal)

Rainbow Sprinkles (Haram)

Raisin (Halal)

Rapeseed (Halal)

Rennet (Doubtful)

Rennet Casein (Doubtful)

Riboflavin (Doubtful)

Rice (Halal)

Rosemary Extract (Haram)

Rum (Haram)

Rye (Halal)

Saccharine (Halal)

Safflower (Halal)

Saffron (Halal)

Sage (Halal)

Salt (Halal)

Savory (Halal)

Sea Salt (Halal)

Semolina (Halal)

Semolina, Durum Wheat Flour (Halal)

Sesame (Halal)

Shallot (Halal)

Shellac (Doubtful)

Sherry Wine (Haram)

Silicon Dioxide (Halal)

Sodium Acetate (Halal)

Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate (Halal)

Sodium Aluminum Phosphate (Halal)

Sodium Aluminum Sulfate (Halal)

Sodium Benzoate (Halal)

Sodium Benzoate (Halal)

Sodium Bicarbonate (Halal)

Sodium Carbonate (Halal)

Sodium Citrate (Halal)

Sodium Erythorbate (Halal)

Sodium Hydroxide (Halal)

Sodium Lactate (Halal)

Sodium Lauryl Sulfate (Doubtful)

Sodium Metabisulfate (Halal)

Sodium Nitrate (Halal)

Sodium Nitrite (Halal)

Sodium Sorbate (Halal)

Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate (Doubtful)

Softener (Doubtful)

Sorbic Acid (Halal)

Sorbitan Monostearate (Doubtful)

Sorbitol (Halal)

Sovent Extracted Modified Lecithin (Haram)

Soy Protein Concentrate (Doubtful)

Soy Protein Isolate (Halal)

Soy Sauce (All Purpose) (Halal)

Soya Flour (Halal)

Soya Lecithin (Halal)

Soya Oil (Halal)

Soya Sauce (Naturally Brewed) (Haram)

Soybean (Halal)

Soybean Oil (Halal)

Spices (Halal)

Starch (Halal)

Stevia (Doubtful)

Sucralose (Halal)

Sugar (Halal)

Sunflower (Halal)

Surimi (Haram)

Sushi (Doubtful)

Tapioca Starch (Halal)

Tartaric acid (Halal)

Taurine (Doubtful)

TBHQ (Doubtful)

Teriyaki, Teriyaki Suace (Haram)

Textured Vegetable Protein (Halal)

Thiamine Mononitrate (Doubtful)

Titanium Dioxide (Halal)

Tocopherol or Vitamin E (Doubtful)

Tofu (Halal)

Tragacanth (Halal)

Tricalcium phosphate (Halal)

Turmeric (Doubtful)

Turmeric Extract (Doubtful)

Turola Yeast (Doubtful)

Vanilla Bean Powder (Doubtful)

Vanilla Bean Specks (Haram)

Vanilla Beans or Vanilla Beans Speck (Haram)

Vanilla Extract (Haram)

Vanillin (Halal)

Vegetable Oils (Halal)

Vinegar (Halal)

Vital Wheat Gluten (Halal)

Vitamin A as Retinol (Doubtful)

Vitamin B12: As Cyanocobalamin (Doubtful)

Vitamin B1: As Thiamine (Doubtful)

Vitamin B2: As Riboflavin (Doubtful)

Vitamin B5: As Pantotherric Acid (Doubtful)

Vitamin B6: As Pyridoxine (Doubtful)

Vitamin C or Ascorbic Acid (Halal)

Vitamin D as Calciferol: (Doubtful)

Vitamin E: As Tocopherol (Doubtful)

Vitamin K (Doubtful)

Wheat (Halal)

Wheat Flour (Halal)

Whey (Doubtful)

Whey Protein Concentrate (Doubtful)

Wine (Haram)

Wine Vinagar (Haram)

Worcestershire Sauce (Doubtful)

Xanthan Gum (Halal)

Xylitol (Halal)

Yeast Extract from Brewer Yeast (Haram)

Zein (Halal)

11 thoughts on “Halal and Haram Ingredient Database”

  1. Hi there – this list is very helpful for me, as I work in an elementary school delivering our nutrition program …. I do have a question about carrageenan – your list says ‘doubtful’

    However, the website of the International Food Ingredients council says this:” A: Carrageenan is a vegan, plant-based ingredient that is essential to many vegetarian, vegan, halal, kosher, and organic food options. It is used in some products to replace animal fats; in others, it’s used in place of gelatin, which is made from animal collagen. Without carrageenan, some products would not meet organic standards or vegetarian, halal, or kosher diets ” http://www.foodingredientfacts.org

    What do you think? Should I avoid foods with carrageenan for my Halal students?

    thank you so much ..Laurie

  2. Assalamo Alaikum,

    Are these halal or Haram in Medicine, did not find on your list. Looks like all are from Vegetables but still wanted to confirm:

    Vegetable Cellulose, Vegetable Stearic Acid, Contains 2% of: Natural Palm Leaf Glaze, Silica, Vegetable Magnesium Stearate,



  3. Sadia Hussain

    Hi, i just want to know about niacin and thiamin. It is listed as doubtful and I wanted to know if they are listed as vegan are they halal or not because I know some products can be made using alcohol. Thank you for your time. Sadia.

  4. Hi do you guys have info on these:
    -Lauryl Hydroxysultaine
    -Styrene/Acrylates Copolymer
    -Lauric acid
    -Hydroxypropyl guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride
    -Hydroxypropyl starch phosphate
    -Potassium hydroxide

  5. Asalamu Alaykum wrwb,

    I recently bought Margarita pizza , and didnt notice at the time of buying. but it has “Pregelatinized wheat flour”. which is not mentioned in the list. kindly clarify is it halal or haram

Please Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top